4 Results for month: 08/2017

Thunder U17s & U19s win NPL Tournament 2017

Congratulations to our U17 and U19 squads who have won their respective competitions at England Netball's NPL Tournament 2017. The U17s beat Yorkshire Netball 32-23 in the final to take victory in the four-day competition. While, the U19s also beat Yorkshire Netball - this time by 51 points to 32. Congratulations to all our players, coaches and support staff on their brilliant achievements. More

Selected: Our U17 NPFL Squad

On Tuesday night (15 August), Thunder Director of Netball Karen Greig and the U17 NPFL Coaching Team had the tough task of finalising our NPFL squad. The 16 athletes in the long-list have shown great commitment and application which made selection extremely difficult. These are the players selected to the U17 NPFL tournament in Nottingham next week - congratulations to all involved: Elzabeth Cardwell – Blackpool NC Alex Johnson – Chester NC Laura Mallinder – Oldham NC Kasmine Narnor – Oldham NC Rachel Carter – Tameside NC Amelia Veevers – Chester NC Kelsie Taylor – Tameside NC Alicia Scholes – YWCA Bury NC Ellie Heyes – YWCA Bury NC Berri Neil – Oldham NC Alex Martin – Oldham NC Caitlin Sharkey – YWCA Bury NC RESERVES: Yasmin Roebuck + Emma Raynor See the full squad in detail here >> More

Thunder nominated for three Goalden Globes

Manchester Thunder have been nominated for three Goalden Globes Awards. Head coach Karen Greig has been shortlisted for Coach of the Season after leading the Black and Yellows to third in the 2017 Superleague. Young centre-courter Gabby Marshall gets the nod in the Vitality Player of the Season Award category, selected by the league's sponsor, Vitality. Completing the Thunder nominees is Kathryn Turner, who has made the shortlist for Players' Player of the Season, chosen by Superleague players. On the night of the ceremony, which is to be held at Birmingham's NCC on Saturday, September 16, an All Star VII will be announced, which has also been voted for by all Superleague players. Full list of nominees: Superleague Coach of the Season Karen Greig - Manchester Thunder Karen Atkinson - Loughborough Lightning Tamsin Greenway - Wasps Vitality Player of the Season Natalie Haythornthwaite - Wasps Bongiwe Msomi - Wasps Peace Proscovia - Loughborough ... More

Bayman & Housby back for Fast 5

Former captain Sara Bayman and shooter Helen Housby will return to Manchester Thunder for the Fast 5 All-Stars Netball Tournament in the autumn. The pair will join eight current Thunder players in the squad of 10 as the 'All Star' additions, with Emma Dovey, Kerry Almond, Dani Bloomfield, Bea Skingsley, Gabby Marshall, Sophie Morgan, Kathryn Turner and Amy Clinton also selected by head coach Karen Greig. England internationals Housby and Bayman both headed Down Under to play in the Australian and New Zealand domestic leagues for the 2017 season. Bayman, a stalwart player for the Black and Yellows, captained Thunder to the Superleague title in 2014. That was also a breakthrough season for a then teen Housby, who has since gone on to play for England at the World Cup in Australia. Wigan-born Bayman, who played for ANZ Championship side Central Pulse last season, said: "I'm really excited to be back in the Thunder colours and I'm looking forward to what promises to be ... More