Manchester Thunder Awards Dinner 2016

Manchester Thunder celebrated another successful season on and off the court at a glittering awards bash.

Superleague and NPL players, volunteers, supporters and staff headed to Hotel Football for the annual end of season awards dinner. Captain Sara Bayman was the big winner on the night, scooping two awards - Superleague Players’ Player of the Season and MVP 2016. Former coach Mike Greenwood was awarded a posthumous Hall of Fame Award, with director of netball Debbie Hallas delivering a moving speech for the much-loved man who died in 2011. Defender Jodie Gibson was handed the Pat Greenwood Commitment Award and Ellie Cardwell was given the Most Improved Player Award for her outstanding efforts at shooter this season. Amy Clinton, who enjoyed a breakthrough season in the Superleague squad making her debut against Team Northumbria, was named NPL Coaches’ Player of the Season

The night was hosted by Key 103 DJ Darren Proctor and guests enjoyed a three-course meal at the venue, which is located in the shadows of Old Trafford and owned by the Class of 92.

Head coach Dan Ryan delivered a rousing speech, as did Bayman, who vowed that the team would be back stronger in 2017. She added: “On behalf of the players we are sorry we didn’t win it. We’ll be back bigger, stronger, better and angrier next season.”

Full list of winners:

  • NPL Most Improved Player – Susie Armstrong
  • NPL Coaches’ Player of the Season – Amy Clinton
  • NPL Players’ Player of the Year – Taylor Cullen 
  • Volunteer of the Year Award – Dave and Alice Turner
  • Pat Greenwood Commitment Award NSL – Jodie Gibson
  • Superleague Most Improved Player – Ellie Cardwell
  • Superleague Players’ Player of the Season – Sara Bayman
  • Hall of Fame Award – Mike Greenwood Snr. Aka, Mr Manchester Thunder 
  • MVP 2016 – Sara Bayman