Superleague Team of the Season


Two Manchester Thunder players of been named in the Vitality Netball Superleague Team of the Season.
Black and Yellows captain Sara Bayman and wing attack Natalie Haythornthwaite are among seven of the best players in the league, according to a team of experts. 

Sky Sports pundits had the tough job of whittling down their top seven, with Haythornthwaite, who also played at goal attack this season, fighting off competition from players such as Sophie Hankin, Mikki Austin, Hannah Joseph and Kat Ainsworth. The announcement completed a successful weekend for the young England attacker, as her national side also claimed victory in the Netball Europe tournament, which took place in Newcastle. Much-respected Bayman, who just missed on the overall Player of the Season vote to Sammy Wallace, has been selected ahead of a number of strong Superleague centres, including Storm’s Sophia Candappa and Joline Johansson of Hertfordshire Mavericks.

Superleague Team of the Season
GK Ama Agbeze (Loughborough Lightning)
GD Layla Guscoth (Hertfordshire Mavericks)
WD Amy Flanagan (Surrey Storm)
C Sara Bayman (Manchester Thunder)
WA Natalie Haythornthwaite (Manchester Thunder)
GA Pamela Cookey (Surrey Storm)
GS Rachel Dunn (Surrey Storm)