Performance Pathway Support Team

Manchester Thunder’s Performance Pathway programme aims toΒ find, inspire and develop the next generation of leading netballers for Thunder, the North West and England.

To achieve this, we have put together what we are confident is an outstanding Performance Pathway Support Team for 2018/2019.

Under the guidance and direction of our Director of Netball Karen Greig, they will be led by Pathway Head Coach Laura Malcolm in collaboration with Sheonah Forbes, who is on maternity leave. You can email Laura here >>

Here are the details of our support team:

S+C Lead

Nick Fowler – after a year of working within our Pathway with our U19 and U17 athletes, we are delighted to have Nick on board as our Pathway S+C coach working across all age groups from U15 – U21s. Nick is a fully qualified UKSCA coach and runs his own S+C business.

U19 Head Coach

Jen Fields – Jen has worked with Thunder since the inception of our new Pathway. In the 2018 season she was assistant coach for our U19 and was co lead on our U15 programme. She is the co-founder of Sisters in Sport. Previously she has worked within the North West Region performance programme. Her playing history includes playing in the NSL for Leeds Met Carnegie and is a former England Basketball player.

Pathway Physio

Lisa Grady – qualified for 3 years, Lisa did some work with our Pathway in the 2018 season. She works for the NHS and is keen to develop working within performance sport.

Pathway Mangers

Natalie Kerrigan & Emma Langshaw – Keen to add additional support to our pathway, both have been involved in netball in their clubs and counties for a number of years and have demonstrated great organisational and planning skills , they will be a part of our programme and mentored by Phil Thomas (Franchise Team Manager) and Kath Pemberton (Former NSL Team Manager)

Pathway Coaching Team

We have had more interest than ever to be a part of our growing coaching team , the level of applicants was exceptional and we have finalised our coaching team structure , Congratulations to the following:

U21 U19 U17
Suzy Ashworth – Co HC Jen Fields – HC Laura Malcolm – HC
Pam Hazelton – Co HC Lauren Palmer – Asst Alison Sharp – Asst
Jen Fields – Dev Georgina Davies – Asst Ashley Taylor – Asst
    Sophie Austin – Dev


Futures U15 TYA TYA Bees
Laura Malcolm – HC Lauren Palmer – HC Phil Owen – Co HC Vic Knights – HC
Suzanne Bass – Asst Phil Owen – Asst Rosie Harris – Co HC Nat Kerrigan – Asst
Clair Christy – Asst Sophie Austin – Asst Tricia Sterling – Asst Charley McDowell – Asst
Jodie Mundy – Dev Rosie Harris – Dev Denise Shorrock – Asst Imogen Turner – Dev
  Jess Fowler – Dev Lauren Watson – Asst Clair Christy – Involve
    Dawn McGuire – Dev  
    Jenny Fisher – Dev  
    Joanne Dempsey – Dev  
    Ella McGovern – Dev